SIGDOC sponsors a number of awards as a means of recognizing outstanding contributions to the field. Awards are presented at the SIGDOC conference.

The Rigo Award is presented to an individual for a lifetime of significant work in the design of communication. Rigo Awards are given every other year, during even-numbered years.

The Diana Award is given every other year, during odd-numbered years, to an organization which has collectively made an impact on the field.

The winner of the Student Research Competition is provided with subsidized participation in the SIGDOC conference, and the opportunity to publish and present their work.