Topics of Interest

Proposals should address topics including, but not limited to:

  • Content strategy
  • Technical communication
  • User experience
  • International and intercultural communication design
  • Learning systems/environments
  • Open source design solutions
  • Collaborative platforms
  • Design methods and principles
  • Digital humanities and design
  • Project management
  • Information design and architecture
  • Computer-mediated communication
  • Experience architecture

Submissions are typically due a month or so after the CFP deadline for the annual conference.

First Round Competitions

The first round of competition is a poster session. This is your opportunity to present your research in the areas specified in the Call for Submissions. Judges will review the posters and speak to participants about their research; a group of semi-finalists will be chosen to present at the second round of the competition.

Second Round Competitions

Semi-finalists continue by giving a short, open presentation of their research before judges and conference attendees, with a supporting slide-based presentation. Evaluations are based on the presenter’s knowledge of their research area, contribution of the research, and the quality of the oral and visual presentation. Three winners will be chosen in each category, undergraduate and graduate, receiving $500, $300, and $200, respectively.

The SRC Grand Finals

First-place undergraduate and graduate student winners from the SRC will advance to the SRC Grand Finals drawing from winners from all ACM SIGs. A different panel of judges evaluates these winners against each other via the Web. Three undergraduates and three graduates will be chosen as the SRC Grand Finals winners. They are invited, along with their advisors, to the annual ACM Awards Banquet, where they receive formal recognition.


The requirements for participation in the SRC are:

  • You must be a current ACM student member (rates begin at $19/year)
  • If selected to participate in the SRC, you must register for the SIGDOC conference
  • You must still be a student at the time of the conference
  • You must submit an extended abstract based upon the guidance given on that year’s conference website
  • Only undergraduates may propose team-based research. Graduate students must propose individual research projects
  • For undergraduate teams, one person should be designated by the team to attend the conference and make the oral presentation.
  • If you propose to the SRC, you cannot propose to the main SIGDOC conference (and vice versa). You must choose only one to participate in

To learn more about the SRC, visit

If you have questions, email the Student Research Competition chair, Dr. Sarah Read (

Past Winners

Click on the link icons to view any corresponding proceedings publications.


SRC Competition 2022 Winners

Graduate Division

  • 1st Place: Chenxing Xie, North Carolina State University
  • 2nd Place: Jiaxin Zhang, Texas Tech University
  • 3rd Place: Meghalee Das, Texas Tech University πŸ”—

No undergraduate division for SIGDOC ’22.


SRC Competition 2021 Winners

Graduate Division

  • 1st Place: Ian Stark, Texas Tech University πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Jiaxin Zhang, Texas Tech University πŸ”—
  • 3rd Place: Yingying Tang, Auburn University πŸ”—

Undergraduate Division

  • 1st Place: Hannah Goodsell, Worcester Polytechnic Institute πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Kylie Call, Virginia Tech πŸ”—
  • 3rd Place: Koyo Nakamura, Han Feng, Sebastian Priss, & Hannah Mei (University of Washington)Β  πŸ”—

SRC Competition 2020 Winners

Graduate Division

  • 1st Place: Danielle Stambler, University of Minnesota πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Sarah Fadem, Ritgers University πŸ”—
  • 3rd Place: Nicole Lowman, SUNY University at Buffalo πŸ”—

Undergraduate Division

  • 1st Place: Sanjana Ponnada, Arizona State University πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Rita Flanagan, University of Pittsburgh πŸ”—
  • 3rd Place: Kenyan Burnham (Texas Tech University), Adam Narine (Ontario Technical University), & Christopher Trotter (University of Minnesota) πŸ”—

SRC Competition 2019 Winners

Graduate Division

  • 1st Place: Nupoor Ranade, North Carolina State University πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Yeqing Kong, North Carolina State University πŸ”—
  • 3rd Place: Angela Glotfelter, Miami University

Undergraduate Division

  • 1st Place: Nicholas Hennigan, Milwaukee School of Engineering University πŸ”—
  • 2nd Place: Andrea Ausmus, Paulo Buencamino, Jennifer Grether, Stella Kim, Kerri Kress, & Aaron Suchman (Arizona State University)