The SIGDOC Board consists of volunteers who help actively advance the organization and its endeavors. Throughout its history SIGDOC has benefited greatly from the many volunteers who have served in various capacities. SIGDOC is seeking active participation from members; if you would like to get involved, please contact us at

SIGDOC Executive Committee

Name & Affiliation Role Bio
Daniel P. Richards
Old Dominion University
Chair Daniel P. Richards is an associate professor and associate chair of English at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA. His research focuses on environmental rhetoric, risk communication, the public understanding of science, and the politics of higher education. His most recent project applies UX and rhetorical approaches to political negotiation between military readiness and renewable energy development. He has served as SIGDOC chair since 2019.
Sarah Read
Portland State University
Vice Chair Sarah Read is an associate professor and director of technical and professional writing at Portland State University. Her research develops genre, network, and infrastructure theory for technical communication. Her current research focuses on how metaphor structures scientific and technical writing and communication. She has served as SIGDOC vice chair since 2019.
Susan A. Youngblood
Auburn University
Secretary-Treasurer Susan A. Youngblood earned her Ph.D. in technical communication and rhetoric from Texas Tech University and her B.A. in environmental science from the University of Massachusetts Lowell. Her background also includes graduate studies in anthropology and work as environmental consultant and regulator. Her research primarily focuses on how communication is crafted for individuals vulnerable to physical and cultural harm and on online communication choices, particularly in situations in which sharing information poses safety or security risks.
Jordan Frith
Clemson University
Editor-in-Chief, CDQ Jordan Frith is the Pearce Professor of Professional Communication at Clemson University. His primary research focuses on technical communication, mobile media, and communication infrastructure, and he is the author of 3 books and has 2 more books currently under contract. He has also published more than 35 peer-reviewed journal articles in a variety of disciplines, including communication studies, technical communication, media studies, and geography. Additionally, he’s a big believer in the importance of public scholarship and has published in public venues like Salon, Slate, and The Conversation.
Emma J. Rose
University of Washington Tacoma
Past Chair Emma J. Rose is an associate professor of technical communication and design in the School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences at the University of Washington Tacoma and an adjunct associate professor in Human Centered Design & Engineering at the University of Washington Seattle. Her research and teaching are motivated by a commitment to social justice. She researches ways to engage people and communities in the design process and the pedagogy of user experience. She has served on the SIGDOC board since 2016, including serving as Industry Liaison, Vice Chair, Chair, and now Past Chair.

SIGDOC Advisory Board

Name & Affiliation Role Bio

Halcyon Lawrence
Towson University

Member at Large Halcyon Lawrence is an assistant professor of Technical Communication at Towson University, Maryland. Her research focuses on speech intelligibility and the design of speech interactions for speech technologies, particularly for under-represented user populations. Lawrence served as program co-chair for SIGDOC ’21.
Nupoor Ranade
George Mason University
Member at Large Nupoor Ranade is an assistant professor at George Mason University and an associate editor at Kairos. Her research areas include technical communication, user experience, and digital literacy, especially in the areas of artificial intelligence, data analytics and Internet of Things. Her academic research originates in, and informs industry practices. She has collaborated with industry partners such as SAS Institute, Citrix, and IBM for her research projects.
Timothy Elliott
DePaul University
Member at Large Timothy J. Elliott is an assistant professor in DePaul University’s Writing Rhetoric and Discourse department. His research interests include narratives in technical communication, project-based service learning, and public engagement in urban planning projects. He has collaborated with several Chicago-based nonprofits as a writer and teacher including: the Telpochcalli Community Education Project (TCEP), KEEN Chicago, and the Institute of Global Homelessness.
Sherena Huntsman
Boise State University
Access Chair Sherena Huntsman is an assistant professor of technical communication at Boise State University where she also serves on the University IT Accessibility Council and the Idaho Digital Access Consortium. Her research investigates the intersection of technical communication and disability studies. Her research focuses on the way power structures function in digital design processes that both generate and inhibit access to social and political systems.
Sonia Stephens
University of Central Florida
Communications Manager Sonia H. Stephens is an associate professor of English at the University of Central Florida and a core faculty member of UCF’s interdisciplinary Texts and Technology Program. Her research focuses on scientific communication in digital and visual media, visual risk communication, and user-centered design. Her current projects include developing digital tools for communicating about natural hazards and understanding the role of narrative in sea level rise communication.
Chris Lindgren
Virginia Tech
Website Manager Chris Lindgren is an assistant professor of Technical Communication in the English Department at Virginia Tech. He teaches in both the Professional & Technical Writing undergraduate program and Rhetoric & Writing Ph.D. program. His research focuses on theorizing computer coding as a form of writing with data and applying feminist rhetorical theories to computational social science methods to study the designs of digital environments.
Jason Tham
Texas Tech University
Social Media Manager Jason Tham is a member of the technical communication and rhetoric faculty at Texas Tech University. His current projects include studies of design thinking methodologies in professional practice and pedagogy. He is author of Design Thinking in Technical Communication and co-author of Collaborative Writing Playbook and Designing Technical and Professional Communication
Sahajiya Nath
Virginia Tech
Student Representative Sahajiya Nath is a doctoral student of Rhetoric and Writing in the English department at Virginia Tech. Her background includes graduate studies in comparative literature and technical communication and research in digital humanities. She previously served as the editorial assistant for Communication Design Quarterly.
Open Industry Liaison
Carlos J. Costa
Universidade de Lisboa
Chair of EuroSIGDOC Carlos J. Costa is Associate Professor at ISEG (Lisbon School of Economics and Management), University of Lisbon (Universidade de Lisboa). Carlos is a member of IEEE and ACM. Carlos holds a PhD in Information Sciences and Technologies in the field of Information Systems and Databases from ISCTE. His research interests include Information Systems Theory, ERP, gamification and Free and Open Source Software. Carlos has more than 200 publications.

Past Chairs

  • Emma Rose: 2018-2019
  • Claire Lauer: 2016-2018
  • Liza Potts: 2013-2016
  • Rob Pierce: 2012-2013
  • Brad Mehlenbacher: 2005-2012
  • Scott Tilley: 2003-2005
  • Kathy Haramundanis: 1997-2003
  • Nina Wishbow: 1993-1997
  • R. John Brockmann: 1989-1993
  • Diana Patterson: 1980-1989
  • Tom D’Auria: 1977-1980
  • Joe Rigo: 1975-1977